Account Login

Our Trustees

Read about our current Trustees and the work they do

Jeremy Treglown - Chair

Jeremy Treglown


Jeremy Treglown is a biographer and a former editor of the Times Literary Supplement. He founded and for many years chaired the Warwick Writing Programme, with David Morley as Director. He has also chaired literary prize committees including Booker, Whitbread (now Costa) and Encore. His latest book is Franco’s Crypt: Spanish Culture and Memory Since 1936.

Dr. Judith Abbott -

Dr. Judith Abbott

Dr. Judith Abbott – Judith is Chief Executive and Accounting Officer at PROCAT. She was previously the Director of Finance & Resources at Harrow College from 2011-17, where she was responsible for Finance, IT, Estates, HR and Student Records, and implemented a new Estates Strategy consisting of c. £15million of grant funding and £1million bank loan, returning the college to a sustainable financial position. Judith has over 20 years’ Blue Chip finance experience at Ford Motor Company and subsidiaries including over 10 years at a Senior Manager/Director level. Since 2006 Judith has held Senior Manager/Director level positions in the not for profit sector including, Director of Finance for Energy Saving Trust Ltd and Head of Strategic Planning and Control for Action for Children.

Kit de Waal -

Kit de Waal

Kit de Waal is a writer and freelance consultant editor with a background in criminal and family law. She was a magistrate for several years and sits on adoption panels and has written training manuals on adoption and foster care. Her writing has received numerous awards including the Bridport Flash Fiction Prize 2014 and 2015 and the SI Leeds Literary Reader’s Choice Prize 2014. Her first novel My Name is Leon was published by Viking Penguin in 2016.

Lee Bilson -

Lee Bilson

Lee has worked in the heritage sector since completing his Bachelor of Architecture at the Glasgow School of Art, and later his masters at the University of Cambridge. He has worked on some of the UK’s most important heritage buildings and artefacts, including The Palace of Westminster, Blenheim Palace, and HMS Victory. He is a part-time PhD researcher at the University of Liverpool, focusing on the significance of craftsmanship as part of Intangible Cultural Heritage in built heritage.

Neil Harris -

Neil Harris

Neil Harris – Neil Harris is Head of Finance at the Blackheath Conservatoire and has over 30 years financial and commercial experience. He is a trustee of A New Direction, the Arts Council funded arts and education bridge charity for London and a member of the Institute for Chartered Accountants in England and Wales (FCA). Neil was a Partner at Deloitte LLP for 24 years and worked with public sector organisations, such as RSPCA, Ravensbourne College, Royal Engineers and Oxford University Press. He also has significant experience in the technology, real estate and business support sectors.

Ashley Holloway -

Ashley Holloway

Ashley Holloway is Chief Product Officer for DMA Media. He has delivered digital channels, strategies and products for a wide range of businesses including Virgin Media TV, Penguin Random House and Sainsbury’s. He is also a writer whose play Lesere was performed recently in the West End.

Nick Makoha -

Nick Makoha

Nick Makoha is a poet, performer, workshop leader and mentor. Born in Uganda, Nick fled the country due the civil war in the 1970s. Nick has presented his work for the British Council in Finland, Czech Republic, USA and the Netherlands. Nick was one of ten contemporary poets to be selected for Spread the Word’s Complete Works mentoring programme. His one man show, My Father & Other Superheroes, premiered at The London Literature Festival in 2013. He is the winner of 2015 Brunel African Poetry award.

Daljit Nagra -

Daljit Nagra

Daljit Nagra has published four poetry collections with Faber & Faber. He has won the Forward Prize for Best Individual Poem and Best First Book, the South Bank Show Decibel Award and the Cholmondeley Award. His books have been nominated for the Costa Prize and twice for the TS Eliot Prize, and he has been selected as a New Generation Poet by the Poetry Book Society. He is the inaugural Poet-in-Residence for Radio 4 & 4 Extra, and presents a weekly programme, Poetry Extra, on Radio 4 Extra. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature and was elected to its Council. He has judged many prizes including The Samuel Johnson Prize, The T.S. Eliot Prize, The Costa Prize, the David Cohen Prize, the National Poetry Competition. His poems have been published in The New Yorker, Poetry Chicago, The LRB, The TLS and The New Statesman. He has written for The Guardian, The Financial Times. He teaches at Brunel University London.

Meriel Schindler -

Meriel Schindler

Meriel Schindler is a Partner and Head of Employment at Withers Worldwide law firm, advising senior executives and employers. Meriel is a trained mediator and used to write regularly for The Guardian, offering legal counsel to readers

Jon Teckman -

Jon Teckman

Jon Teckman is a Senior Teaching Fellow at Surrey University Business School where he designs and delivers leadership development programmes for a variety of clients. Before joining Surrey, Jon was on the faculty at Ashridge Business School where he helped to design and run the country’s first ever MBA specifically for the creative industries. He was formerly CEO of the British Film Institute. Jon’s first novel Ordinary Joe (which he began on an Arvon programme in 2007) was published by The Borough Press in 2015.

Andy Wimble -

Andy Wimble

Andy Wimble – After graduating in Landscape Architecture at Manchester Polytechnic in 1976, Andy worked briefly in both private practice and local government. He has spent most of his career working for government agencies such as English Heritage. Recent work has included prestige projects such as the International Maritime Headquarters on Albert Embankment, the International Conference Centre, Westminster, and the Princess of Wales Conservatory, Royal Botanical Gardens, Kew.

We recently carried out a Board Effectiveness Review – you can view the report here

Arvon Foundation Trustees Report and Accounts 2015


Terry Hands CBE


Simon Armitage CBE, FRSL
Lord (Melvyn) Bragg FRS, FBA, FRSL
Alan Brownjohn FRSL
Lady Caroline Chichester-Clark
Dr David Cohen CBE
Dame Carol Ann Duffy DBE, FRSL
Jerry Hall
Carol Hughes
Professor Sir Andrew Motion FRSL
Nigel Pantling
David Pease MBE
Sir Salman Rushdie FRSA
Wole Soyinka FRSL
Pete Townshend

This website uses cookies to give you the best experience. Agree by clicking the 'Accept' button.